The european flag

The European flag, the symbol of the European Union, was born with the intention of representing the unity, identity and ambition of Europe in general. This emblem is the result of a long search by the Council of Europe for a clear symbol representing the sharing of the values of democracy, respect for human rights and diversity.

The European flag was inaugurated in Paris by the Council of Ministers on 13 December 1955. This symbol stems from the will of the then 14 Member States of the Council of Europe and consists of a circle of 12 golden stars on a blue background, where the stars represent the ideals of unity, It is a question of solidarity and harmony between the peoples of Europe and the number does not depend on the number of Member States.

In 1983, the European Parliament decreed that the flag used by the Council of Europe should be adopted by the whole Community. For this reason, in 1985, the Heads of State or Government of the Member States raised it alongside the national flag in regional and national buildings and institutions, thereby giving the European Union value. In the following years, the European flag became an emblem of many organisations, initiatives and businesses, and a symbol of Europe’s presence in the world.


Given its symbolic importance, the Council of Europe and the European Commission shall endeavour to ensure that the flag is used in a proper and dignified manner, since it is now the emblem of unity and the ultimate symbol of European identity and union.

Ultimo aggiornamento: 06/06/2019 ore 13:27